The Peh-Pu-See Chah-Rehn-Ju

A key precept of Agile is that it’s OK to fail, as long as you fail fast.

Before I write a single line of code, I need to have a test that will prove my transliteration standard is superior to the existing one.  If the test fails, I either go back to the drawing board or give up and stick with Agile consulting, or simply get a regular job at a tech company and use the logo for a tattoo instead of a business card.

My test is going to be simple.  After giving a reader 5 minutes to get familiarized with the new standard, they will be asked to sing along to Gangnam Style twice: once using the old transliteration standard, once with mine.

There will be some need to control for the fact that people get better between the first and better performance.  Maybe give each singer 2 practice runs to account for acclimatization?  Or have half the subjects do one standard first, half the other?

I’ll have to ask Indolaysia Tom on how to design an unbiased experiment, but it’ll at least allow an approximate comparison.  And the great part is that karaoke machines have built-in scoring mechanisms so there will be a consistent metric.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Peh-Pu-See Chah-Rehn-Ju

  1. cindy says:

    wish i could volunteer for this.

    • Hey Cindy,
      I recall some time ago coming across a free tool that lets you create your own karaoke video by typing in text and time markers to match it to the audio. If I can get that working, and upload it to YouTube, I don’t see any reason you couldn’t give it a shot!

Comments are closed.